Insurance and cash prices
Does insurance cover HRT?
Your plan may pay for the visit or the prescription. Online program fees are a different story. Here is what each insurer publishes, what each program says, and the cash price if the answer is no.
By Julian Caraulani · prices checked
3 of the 10 online programs we track say they take insurance, at least in part: Found, LifeMD Women's Health and PlushCare. 5 say they do not, and 2 do not give a clear yes or no on their own pages. Your own doctor billing your plan is a separate route, and each insurer's rules are in the guides below.
Pick your insurer
Each guide reads that insurer's own published documents and links them.
If your plan says no: the cash price
The lowest published price for estrogen therapy, read on each program's own site. Check the note under each one for labs or visit fees.
Price checked Nov 5 · Cancel anytime · Medication included · No email needed
See every estrogen therapy price, cheapest first. Or the programs that take insurance.
What each program says
In its own words, from its own site. The price is its lowest published all-in plan for estrogen therapy.
| Program | Takes insurance? | Cash from | Visit |
|---|---|---|---|
Yes, at least in part. Yes, in-network for visits. 8.9/10 | Yes, at least in part. Yes, in-network for visits | $89/mo | Visit |
Yes, at least in part. Some insurers accepted for visits. 6.4/10 | Yes, at least in part. Some insurers accepted for visits | No all-in price | Visit |
Yes, at least in part. Yes (Aetna, Cigna, Humana and others). 6.1/10 | Yes, at least in part. Yes (Aetna, Cigna, Humana and others) | No all-in price | Visit |
No. No. 9.2/10 | No. No | $54/mo | Visit |
No. No (cash pay). 8.5/10 | No. No (cash pay) | $69/mo | Visit |
No. No (HSA/FSA accepted). 7.1/10 | No. No (HSA/FSA accepted) | $213/mo | Visit |
No. No. 7.0/10 | No. No | $104/mo | Visit |
No. No (superbills for HSA/FSA). 6.6/10 | No. No (superbills for HSA/FSA) | No all-in price | Visit |
No clear answer. Unclear. 6.2/10 | No clear answer. Unclear | $199/mo | Visit |
No clear answer. Not stated. 5.7/10 | No clear answer. Not stated | No all-in price | Visit |
Some links earn us a commission; it never changes a score. How we make money.
Questions people ask
Do online HRT programs take insurance?
Some do, at least in part: Found (Yes, in-network for visits), LifeMD Women's Health (Some insurers accepted for visits) and PlushCare (Yes (Aetna, Cigna, Humana and others)). Most of the 10 programs we track are cash pay.
What does estrogen (patch, gel or pill) cost without insurance?
The lowest published price we track is $54/mo at Winona (Estrogen tablets (estradiol), auto-refill, 30 or 90-day supply). Check each program's listed labs and visit fees too.
Can I use an HSA or FSA?
Hone Health and Sesame mention HSA or FSA on their own pages. Check with your plan administrator too.
Where do these answers come from?
Each program's stance is read from its own site. Each insurer's rules come from that insurer's published documents, cited in its guide. Your own plan document decides the final answer.
Check this page with an AI assistant:ChatGPTPerplexityClaude
Not affiliated with OpenAI, Perplexity or Anthropic.